Plan E: Part II

Back to the ‘knee’ thing and why I’m not competing. The knee is not really the issue, it’s just where the pain is presenting due to a former back injury,  a foot issue, and lack of balance. The latter stems from issues with an ear canal.  All of theses can be rectified and I’m working with a doctor who does all of his own treatments which include a multitude of things from stem, massage, functional exercises, stretching, balance work, etc.  I’m also working with Janet Smith-Leet, a bio-mechanics coach, who has helped me tremendously in the past with other issues too.

I think what’s hard about all this too as I’ve always listened to my body and I’ve always taken time off between seasons as a big picture goal is longevity in this sport.  Last year I took 2 months off, the year before I took 4 months completely off. And, my running history really isn’t that long in the scheme of things.  I’ve only done so consistently for about 12 years.  Although I started competing in ’97, I was a summer-only athlete for my first several years. I  only swam year round, I biked and ran maybe 4-5 months of the year.

I’m swimming in thoughts as to what I can do this summer.  Hmmm, speaking of swimming, perhaps I’ll pimp myself out for doing the swimming leg on triathlon relays.  Let me know if you’re interested!

 

Leave a Reply

